McFarland named to SD Hall of Fame

May 3, 2018

LifeScape Chief Executive Officer Anne Rieck McFarland will be inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame with the class of 2018. McFarland is one of ten honorees to be inducted this year.

A press release from the Hall of Fame lists McFarland as "Empowering those with disabilities to impact South Dakota." It further states: "At a young age, Anne recognized equality, feeling valued and confidence. Her first job in a group home started her career path in the human services field. She has a strong desire to help others, knowing the importance of improving people’s overall quality of life, and will say she has never wondered if she chose the right profession. Because she excels in her love for a mission, coupled with her drive to lead, and the need to produce results, Anne has built her career from the ground up to leading one of the top ten largest non-profit organizations with a statewide impact. Her life’s path, both personally and professionally, has transpired so she can give back. Reaching out to include others, she develops staff and community leaders, working collaboratively with many groups and individuals, while always keeping people in need in the center. She has created training modules for supervisors and also mentors staff in a year-long program to develop skills and enhance personal and professional goals. Anne has been in a leadership position with LifeScape for 30 years, and more than 40 years in the human services profession. She is truly a positive ambassador for people of all abilities."

The Honors Ceremony will be held in Chamberlain/Oacoma, SD on September 7 and 8 and is open to the public. Tickets will go on sale June 1, and can be purchased on the Hall of Fame website or by calling the Hall at 605.234.4216.

The other honorees are: This year’s honorees are Cleveland Abbott (1892-1955); Nicholas Black Elk (1863 - 1950), Rod Bowar, Kennebec; Marilyn Hohm Hoyt, Huron; Tom Loveland, Sioux Falls; Roger Musick, Mitchell; Rod Parry, Sioux Falls; Raymond Peterson, Brookings; and John Porter, Sioux Falls.

Since 1974, over 700 South Dakotans have become members of the South Dakota Hall of Fame for their exceptional achievements and contributions to the state. The mission of the Hall of Fame is to champion a culture of excellence in South Dakota, One Act at a Time.

We are proud of Anne's accomplishments and congratulate her on this wonderful and well-deserved honor!