Special Education School

We take pride in our specialty school, which includes residential and day students through age 21. Each classroom at LifeScape is staffed by certified special education teachers and teaching assistants.

Evidence-Based Instruction

We use the principles of Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) in our daily instruction and support. Our small staff-to-student ratios ensure personal attention.

Approved by the South Dakota Department of Education

We tailor each student’s learning plan, in education we refer to this as an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), to his or her own needs and abilities, using sound scientific principles of instruction. The standards of learning are based on the South Dakota Department of Education Common Core Content Standards.

Interdisciplinary Approach

Each student has an interdisciplinary team to support and develop a specific plan of instruction that meets his or her social, behavioral, and academic needs.

Besides certified teachers, the team may include a school psychologist, music therapist, adapted physical education teacher, computer/technology teacher, speech therapist, occupational therapist, physical therapist, behavior therapist/analyst, social worker, dietitian, nurse, and orthotist. 

The Greatest Expertise in the Region

The school has special education teachers who specialize in teaching children with vision challenges and hearing impairments.

Our staff--administrators, teachers, behavior analysts, psychologists, and therapists--are all certififed in their disciplines.  Many are certified in more than one discipline. 

Community-Based Experiences

Beyond classroom instruction, LifeScape provides many community learning experiences. Students gain functional and social skills for more independent adulthoods.

For information and referrals, contact admissions at 605-444-9550.

Parent Handbooks

Our Education Staff

Vicki Isler, Ed.D., BCBA-D, LBA  
Principal/Director of Education, Children’s Residential, and Behavioral Services
vicki.isler@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9632       

Michelle Bohy, MA
Education Program Specialist
michelle.bohy@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9627

Darcie Knight, Ed.S., LBA
Education Behavior Coordinator/School Psychologist
darcie.knight@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9503

Erin Stabnow, Ed.D., BCBA-D, LBA
Curriculum and Assessment Director/Behavior Analyst
erin.stabnow@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9503

Tammi Waltjer-Haverly, MA   
Special Education Coordinator        
tammi.waltjer-haverly@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9644

Heidi Bakke
Exceptional Services Facilitator
heidi.bakke@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9645

Ronae Foster
Education Administrative Assistant
ronae.foster@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9643

Jamie Richardson, BS
Project Coordinator/LifeScape Center for the Arts
jamie.richardson@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9631

Katie Busser, B.Ed.
Teacher    
kaitlin.busser@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9486

Christy Chitwood, MA, TCVI   
Teacher    
christy.chitwood@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9492

Kathleen Fitch, BA   
Teacher    
kathleen.fitch@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9491

Matt Fjerkenstad, BS, Ed.
Teacher
matthew.fjerkenstad@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9483

Dustin Groen
Teacher Associate    
dustin.groen@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9484

Annalesha Kalis, BS, Ed.
Teacher
annalesha.kalis@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9481

Matt Meuers, BA, EBD
Pathways to Life Teacher
matthew.meuers@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9886

Tina Miller, M Ed.
Computer Coordinator
tina.miller@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9495

Cherie Ortman, MT-BC
Music Therapist
cherie.ortman@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9493

Heather Rieger, BA   
Teacher    
heather.rieger@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9487

Hazel Shuck, BS
Teacher    
hazel.shuck@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9489

Brittany Sirovy, BS Ed.
Teacher    
brittany.sirovy@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9482

Jen Vis, BS Ed.
Adaptive Physical Education Teacher
jennifer.vis@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9647

Karin Wiese, BS.Ed.   
Teacher   
karin.wiese@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9499

Anna Winfrey, BS, Ed.   
Teacher
anna.winfrey@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9485

Victoria Zuhlsdorf, BS
Teacher
victoria.zuhlsdorf@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9481

Chelsea Grove, LSW
Social Worker
chelsea.grove@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9560

Christi Dwyer, RN
School Nurse
christi.dwyer@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9690

Jessica Willprecht, RN BSN
School Nurse
jessica.willprecht@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9691

Kim Winckler, RN
School Nurse
kim.winckler@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9691

Derek Kazemba, BA
Behavior Specialist
derek.kazemba@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9503

Debra Kindelspire, BA
Behavior Specialist
debra.kindelspire@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9504

Michael Vos, BA Ed.
Behavior Specialist/Teacher
michael.vos@LifeScapeSD.org
605-444-9503

School Calendars

Vocational Training PAES Lab

 

LifeScape’s PAES (Practical Assessment Exploration System) Lab is a complete program to help older students identify areas of work they may like, and provides training for certain jobs. LifeScape was the first school in South Dakota to invest is this program.

Five Career Areas
The hands-on, simulated work environment provides training in work readiness skills in almost every type of career.  PAES helps students find their interests in five broad areas – Business/Marketing, Construction/Industrial, Consumer/Service, Processing/Production, and Computer/Technology.

Teaching Positive Work Behaviors
PAES also assesses behavioral barriers to successful learning and helps create positive work behaviors that will help students be successful in future work environments.  Through the hands-on learning experience, PAES provides the student knowledge of what they can do well and what they enjoy.
 
Money Management Training
To complement the PAES lab, LifeScape has purchased two additional curriculums – JOB TALK, a work readiness program, and MoneyManager, which teaches the basics of money management. MoneyManager is used in conjunction with PAES to pay students for their work.
 
Research-Based
The PAES Lab is a research-based curriculum.  It helps prepare our students for transition to adulthood and meaningful employment.

Weather & Wellness Policies, Comprehensive Plan, & FERPA